Day 2: Roasted Chicken, Hoity-Toity Cabbage (and a headache)

Overall, day 2 of the Whole 30 was a success. Foodwise, I started my day with a sorta-omelette with green bell pepper, onion, & 2 eggs. Was it pretty? Nope. Was it delicious? Absolutely. This is actually a pretty standard breakfast for me, so it was kind of nice to be able to make something familiar. Behold:

breakfast
An ugly omelette

And lunch was a breeze because we made enough dinner last night to have leftovers today. I was actually kind of surprised that the spaghetti squash held up overnight, but it was just as good as it was last night. Again, not necessarily pretty, but damn good.

And I’m pretty sure that my “Good Vibes Only” water bottle (from Blogilates) added to the noontime ambience. lunch

I was feeling pretty good, and spent the afternoon/early evening in my office on campus. That’s where things started to head a bit south. My head was pounding! I’m guzzling water like it’s going out of style, but my body wasn’t fooled. Where was the sugar? Where was the caffeine?!

Here, body. Have an apple. That’s sugar-y!

No dice.

I hoped desperately that once I had some dinner, I would feel better. And the plan had been to get home by 5 and start cooking (since meal prep takes what feels like hours…), but it was after 6 by the time I got home. And, in retrospect, I think I got a little too fancy for day 2 since I had to make like 6 different things. Martha Stewart, I’m not. But I soldiered on! Eventually, with Chad’s help, dinner was made and consumed. And it was GOOD. And my headache sort of went away.

On the menu tonight: Perfect Seared Chicken Breast with Roasted Red Pepper Mayonnaise, Perfect Roasted Potatoes, and Green Cabbage Slaw. Again, we made enough for 4 people so that we would have leftovers for lunch tomorrow. I think that’s going to be the key to success here. These meals take so long to make that there is literally no way I would have time to make a deluxe breakfast, lunch, and dinner every day.

dinner cookingI can post the actual recipes if you’re interested, but basically I cut up small red potatoes, tossed them in olive oil, and seasoned with sea salt, pepper, and rosemary. They went in at 425 for 20 minutes, then flipped, re-seasoned, and back in for another 20. In the meantime, the chicken was cut into 5-oz(ish) breasts, and seasoned with sea salt & pepper, and then thrown into the iron skillet on the stovetop for about 4 minutes on each side. Then the skillet went into a 350 oven for about 20 minutes. (I put the potatoes back in pepper saucefor a bit to warm them up while the chicken was finishing up.)

I had to make two things I hadn’t prepped ahead of time (which led to a really late dinner): the Whole 30 version of mayo and then a roasted red pepper sauce… and then combine 3/4 cup of the mayo with 1/4 cup of the pepper sauce to make the sauce for tonight’s chicken. The upside is that I have extra of both the mayo & pepper sauce to use the rest of the week! And the combo mayo/sauce for tonight was really, really good. This is definitely something I’ll make again for drizzling & dipping. slaw

And then the last bit was to throw the Green Cabbage Slaw together. I should have just bought shredded cabbage in a bag, but NO, I had to be all hoity-toity with my cabbage. So I had to wash it, shred it myself, and then make the dressing (olive oil, minced garlic, and the juice of 1 lemon). I threw in some shredded carrots, sesame seeds, and crushed cashews and mixed it all up — it was very light & lemony, and definitely something I would make again. The only problem with slaw is that it’s hard to spear on your fork!

All in all, tonight’s dinner was successful but took WAY too long to prepare for what I ended up with. I definitely need to make some of the sauces and such ahead of time (in all my free time) to make it go more smoothly in the evenings. I do really enjoy cooking with Chad, but when we’re both exhausted, the last thing we want to do is spend 2 hours cooking. Lesson learned!

But I can definitely give the thumbs up to this one. Let me know if you want recipes!

dinner2
Seared Chicken Breast with Roasted Red Pepper Mayo, Roasted Potatoes, and Green Cabbage Slaw

So we’re 2 for 2 with Whole 30 dinners! And my hope for tomorrow: this sugar & caffeine withdrawal  nonsense begins to go away, tonight’s dinner makes a fantastic lunch, and I remember that the plan is to do a crock pot dinner that I need to put together by 10am.

Stay tuned.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

