Day 7 (a bit late): 50 Shades of Applesauce

eggs
We started with 6 eggs…

Sorry for not posting last night! I finished up writing my book chapter (40 pages later) and then wanted to spend some quality time with my sweetie, so I put off blogging until today.

Chad and I started the day working together on a breakfast frittata. I’m a total recipe follower, since I’m still learning how to cook, and Chad is more fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants, make-it-up-as-you-go-along in the kitchen, so there may have been a little… tension? Nothing we couldn’t laugh our way out of!

brown the meat
Browning the meat!

But teamwork makes the dream work, as they say, and I dreamed about a delicious frittata. We decided to make it more of a Mexican style, so we started by browning some extra-lean ground beef and adding some cumin & chili powder to the skillet. Once that was cooked up & set aside, we cooked up the veggies — onion, tomato, chopped jalapenos, and spinach — and then folded in 6 eggs. We added the meat and some cilantro back in the mix, and then realized that because we added the meat we needed more eggs. So in they went. Four, I think? That pan was full. I then topped it all pretty-like with some sliced tomato & set it to broil in the oven for a few. Once the top was a little brown, we pulled that sucker out & it was beautiful! It might be the prettiest thing I’ve ever made!

ready for the oven
Before oven…
complete
After oven!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And MAN was it good. The seasoned meat with the jalapenos kicked it up a notch for me, but Mr. Spicy Pants needed more, so he added some hot sauce and more jalapeno to his frittata. So colorful!

my breakfast

We slept in a bit, so this bountiful breakfast was more like a brunch. And with the added meat and extra eggs, it was really filling. So we really weren’t hungry again until about 4pm when we finished it off for… lunner? Dunch? Whatever. It was still scrumptious.

Because our eating times were off, we didn’t seasoned pork chopseven begin making dinner until almost 8pm. On the menu: Pork Chops and Applesauce! This meal was super-easy to throw together, even though the thought of making apple sauce from scratch kind of freaked me out. But all’s well that ends well! The bone-in chops just needseared chopsed some salt & pepper seasoning & then we (yes we; we’re learning how to exist in the kitchen at the same time — there’s a learning curve) browned them about 2 minutes on each side in the skillet. They got transferred to a glass baking dish & went in a 350 oven for about 15 minutes. Then it was on to the apple sauce!

cut thumb

I’m sad to report that as I was working on chopping the apples, I made my first major Whole 30 kitchen blunder & cut my thumb. It was touch & go there for a minute. I wasn’t sure I was going to make it. Then I wondered where Chad’s Batman band-aids ended up. Then, deciding just to press on, I jumped back into cutting up the apples, sacrificing my very health for the sake of a delicious dinner. You’re welcome, Chad.

onion
ONIONS.

And about the applesauce, here’s the weirdest part: you start by cooking an entire onion in the skillet. An onion. In applesauce. Anyway… after the onion cooked for a few minutes, we added in 2 peeled, cored, diced honeycrisp apples (THE BEST APPLE EVER), 1/2 cup apple cider, and some nutmeg, ginger, and allspice. After cooking for about 5 minutes, we transferred it to the food processor and blended the shit out

appple sauce mix
Onions & apples living in harmony

of it. I was super skeptical that apple sauce made with onions would actually taste like apple sauce, but I was pleasantly surprised!! It was delicious. The only off-putting part is that it ends up looking a little gray in color, but if you can get past your 50 shades of applesauce, it’s pure enjoyment. We served the pork chops & applesauce on a bed of spinach leaves and it was really, really good. Chad topped off my applesauce with some cinnamon (since I spent 20 minutes talking about how I thought it was weird that the recipe didn’t call for it & he kept explaining to me that it’s in the allspice, but I still wanted it). Wasn’t that nice of him? Maybe not the most aesthetically pleasing-looking dish, but I assure you it was divine.

dinner served

This whole first week, I haven’t made one dish from the Whole 30 recipe suggestions that hasn’t been absolutely delicious. Some friends have suggested some Facebook and Instagram accounts to start following for more recipe ideas, so I can’t wait to get creative!

Week 2 starts tonight, which means I need to get my butt moving and start meal planning & get to the grocery store. Wish me luck!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

