Days 21 & 22: Family & Buffalo Chicken Business

steajDay 21 was family day. Chad and I made breakfast/brunch for my folks. We had leftover steak from the night before, so naturally we went with Steak & Eggs! Since I had bought a huge bag of red potatoes at Costco (my new favorite hangout), I decided to make some breakfast potatoes as well — I just tossed them in olive oil, sea salt, pepper, chopped onions and garlic and threw them in the oven for about 40 minutes, shaking eggsthem every 10 minutes or so, then finishing up on 500 for about 15 minutes to brown. They ended up not being as brown as I wanted, actually, but they were YUM.

We ended up using a ton of eggs, since it seems like Whole 30 recommends 3 eggs per person. I let Chad have the honor of scrambling those suckers. As the potatoes were finishing up, eggs in bowlwe stuck the steak in the oven to warm it up a bit, and put on the kettle because one MUST have tea if one is breakfasting/brunching with the Ryans. Everyone knows this.

Chad cooked the eggs in the iron skillet — our favorite cooking gadget (can you call it a gadget?) these days. We’re actually not sure how we cooked anything before he randomly decided one night to run out and buy it. We treat it like a precious, precious kitchen gem. Because it is one. (I’m just afraid to clean it because one time I left it in the tablesink by accident and it got rusted. So now Chad gets that dubious honor.)

Brunch was wonderful! Since we were going to head to my sisters (presumably for the rest of the day), we figured it was our last meal with my folks while they were in town, so we really brunchtook our time and enjoyed ourselves. As always, lots of laughing and good conversation.

And we weren’t wrong about the last meal thing. We (read: Chad and my dad) ended up trying to fix a toilet at my sister’s house for approximately 17 hours and 12 million trips to Home Depot. Everyone else was able to get some take-out for dinner, but not us! We would not relent! Not on DAY 21! But that meant that we were basically running on fumes by the time we got home at 8ish, and we were SO GRATEFUL we had purchased that Aidells sausage at Costco; brinner to the rescue! I love breakfast for dinner, but it especially comes in handy on nights where

breakfast 22
Southwestern egg thingy

you’re too too pooped to pop, as my mom says.

As luck would have it, there was leftover sausage this morning, so after I slept in a bit (hey — I’m on Spring Break!) I made myself an epic Southwestern egg thingy with the chopped up sausage, onion, cilantro, guac, and salsa. It was SO GOOD. And filled me up virtually all day long. So I really wasn’t hungry for lunch. But that’s okay, because I basically had to start prepping dinner at lunchtime anyway! (can you sense the sarcasm?)

graterI decided to make a Whole 30 Facebook page favorite: Buffalo Chicken Casserole. I started just after lunch by rice-ing the cauliflower. Have you ever even hear of such a thing?! Basically you turn cauliflower into a rice substitute by grating it into tiny little pieces, so I thought I could easily do it using the cheese grater. Um, no. What a pain in the butt! So I ricedumped all those suckers into the food processor and voila! Rice-ish cauliflower!

I had everything else I needed ingredient-wise except ghee and apple cider vinegar, so a trip to Kroger was in order. Once I got back, I had to make the buffalo sauce. So a cup of Franks RedHot buffalo sauce(of “I put that shit on everything” fame) went in a saucepan with two tablespoons of ghee and a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar, set on low. Eventually the ghee melted and then the entire house smelled like buffalo wings.

Then I started chopping chicken in skillet2veggies: about a half cup of carrots, celery, & onions, and then a clove of garlic.

I put two large salt-and-peppered chicken breasts in a non-stick skillet for about 5 minutes on their tops & then flipped them, added about 3/4 cup of chicken bone broth, & let them cook for another 10 minutes. Then I shredded the crap out of those suckers! I really, really wanted to use the wolverine-style shredders (like, a lot), but on two ingredientslittle chicken breasts it was more trouble than it was worth. So, I settled for two regular forks. Once that was shredded, I needed 1/2 cup of egg whites, so I cracked open 4 eggs. Then I was ready to make this thing!

The veggies went into a nonstick skillet with a tablespoon of ghee on medium heat, just long enough to cook the onions all the way through (about 5 minutes). Once that was done, it was time to mash it all together, casserole-style. So in a giant bowl went the “rice,” shredded chicken, the veggie bowlmixture from the stovetop, the egg whites, and about 3/4 cup of the buffalo sauce. I mixed it all up for a few, and then spread it into a casserole dish. The recipe suggested that I use parchment paper in the dish, so that’s what I did. Once spread in the dish, I covered it with aluminum foil & the finished product went into a 400 degree oven for about 25 minutes. The foil came off at that point, and it went back in, topless, for another 25. And it came out really nice! Since I had about 1/4 cup of buffalo sauce left, I drizzled it over the top & served it up.

casseroleWe had some leftover kale and almond salad from the other night, so I dished that out and grabbed the Tessemae’s ranch dressing (YUMMM) to put on both the salad and the casserole. It calls for a ranch drizzle, and I honestly was going to make some homemade ranch, but instead I cheated and used the bottled so we could actually eat in the 7:00 hour.

It really came out nicely, and was even a little zippier & spicier than I thought! The ranch cooled it down for me, while Chad was busy pouring the rest of the bottle of Franks on his plate. What can I say? He likes it spicy. But this is most definitely something I would make again. It was very comfort food-ish and I think it will reheat nicely for lunch tomorrow. Can’t wait to eat some more!!

dinner 22

 

Leave a Reply

