Day 29: Back to Cracklin’

I had to make Day 29 a “back to normal” day or I’m pretty sure my internal organs were going to stage a protest. So Monday’s breakfast was scrambled eggs with sauteed veggies, mayotopped with guacamole and some salsa, lunch was a packet of tuna with my new favorite zippy Primal Kitchen Chipotle Lime Mayo (that I didn’t have to make myself!!), and dinner was a favorite: Cracklin’ Chicken, Sweet Potatoes, and Garden Salad!

I am really loving the Nom Nom Paleo website for meal ideas and definitely plan to incorporate more of her recipes since her Cracklin’ Chicken has been such a hit. Michelle Tam of Nom Nom Paleo fame got me past my fear of chicken thighs (I didn’t even gag ONCE while cutting out the bones this time!) and her humorous approach to life in the kitchen is fun to read and replicate. In fact, I actually just ordered her cookbook, so I’ll let you know what kind of cool new recipes I find that work.

Since I’m now an old pro at this one — I mean, chicken cookingI have already made it one time before — I only had to consult the recipe 7 or 8 times tops. Okay, maybe 9. And by happy accident (i.e., Chad helping to warm up the skillet by putting coconut oil in it rather than the ghee called for in the recipe), I think this version came out better than the first time I made it. So, apparently we’ll be using coconut oil from now on.

One of the great things about this recipe is that once you’ve prepped the chicken thighs by deboning them & smashing them with a meat pounder (a great stress reliever, by the way), it only takes 15 minutes tops to make the chicken. Sprinkle a little salt on the skin side, place skin-side-down in a medium skillet (apparently with chicken cookedcoconut oil) for 7-10 minutes, season the other side with seasoning of your choice, flip for 3 or 4 minutes and DONE! She suggests you let the chicken rest for about 5 minutes on a wire rack before serving, which was just the amount of time I needed to throw the salad together.

As I was cooking up the chicken, we realized we wanted something else with our meal, so Chad suggested sweet potatoes. But I had only ever made them in the oven, covered in olive oil & wrapped in foil (and these suckers from Costco are humongous, so they took over an hour on 425 to cook), so I was skeptical that the microwave method would meet my now quite-distinguished culinary palate standards. But he poked those suckers and nuked theveggies shit out of them… and they were good! The skin wasn’t as appetizing (for those of you who actually eat the potato skins) as it is when they’re done in the oven, but the spud itself was delightful with a little ghee and salt & pepper sprinkled on top.

So it was another delicious, regular, non-fruit-containing, Whole 30-approved dinner in the books.

And for Chad, it was his second-to-last night of Whole 30! Only one more day until he can have a drink! (I think it’s hilarious that, of all the things we’ve given up over the last 30 days, the first thing he wants to “reintroduce” is bourbon).

dinner
Yes, I used the chipotle mayo as a salad dressing. It’s that good. 

I’ve decided to do a “Whole 35,” so I’ll be Whole 30-ing through Sunday’s Easter dinner. And we’ve decided that we love how we’re feeling since we cut out the dairy, sugar, and grains, so we’ll probably be 90% compliant from here on out. I plan to keep making compliant dinners every night, so I’m really looking forward to getting the Nom Nom Paleo: Food For Humans book this week from Amazon. So I’ll keep blogging about the hits & misses.

And just when you thought you could get out, I pull you back in.

Leave a Reply

